Waterloo Square

In 1920 Waterloo Square was still afield where livestock grazed. Between 1921 and 1925 the field was change in to some gardens seating area and a bowling green.

The Bognor Bowls Club was formed in 1923 following the construction of the first bowling green and pavilion at Waterloo Square. At that time the area we now know as 'B' Green was part of a putting green.

History of Bognor Regis Bowls Club

Waterloo Square was created by the founder of Bognor, Sir Richard Hotham, when he built Fitzleet House and Hothampton Terrace in the late 1790s.

The Green also boasts an excellent café which caters for bowler's needs and its opening/closing times coincide nicely with matches so that players may avail themselves of its excellent facilities and still get through the after match formalities, speeches etc. Coaching is available to members who have not bowled before from our qualified bowling coach. So come along to the green and enjoy the summer in fine company.


Ollie's Cafe photo